Our Call for Entries Will Open in October 2022!

Looking for other current Third Coast programs? Third Coast is launching an experimental slate of virtual-first, year-round events in 2022. Check out Third Coast in 2022 for more details.

The Basics

The Third Coast/Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Competition awards the best narrative audio work produced worldwide. Across borders and languages, we seek the most urgent, innovative, and artistic work being made in audio today. Through our annual Call for Entries, Third Coast captures a snapshot of the global audio landscape, while igniting a future of possibility, evolution, and increased equity in the field of narrative audio storytelling.

Our Competition in 2022

In the 22nd year of the Third Coast/RHDF Competition, Third Coast is launching a year-round slate of programming, inspired by the theme of experimentation. As part of this shift for Third Coast, we’re introducing a new Competition timeline: Third Coast is pleased to announce that the Call for Entries to the 22nd annual Third Coast/Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Competition will open in October 2022, and will accept entries through January 2023. We will host a community awards celebration in the late Spring of 2023.

For the last few years, our competition has been growing dramatically, but we want to ensure that it remains responsive to the needs of audio makers themselves. Our goal is, on this new timeline, to make sure that the 2022 Competition is our most accessible, affordable, and international Call for Entries yet.

We will release more information related to this year’s competition, including specific eligibility for each category and collective pricing details this Fall. For updates, plus more from Third Coast, make sure you’re signed up for our Third Coast Newsletter, and check back here for updates.


The 2022 Third Coast Richard H. Driehaus Competition timeline will be:

  • Call for Entries Opens: October 2022
  • Winners & Finalists Notified: Spring 2023
  • Awards Ceremony: Spring 2023


To accommodate this new timeline, the window for eligible work will be wider than our typical two-year eligibility window. So, if you planned on entering something this year that came out after our deadline last year, don’t worry — you will be eligible. (That’s a good thing!) To learn more about eligibility, check out our Third Coast/RHDF Competition Categories.

Our Competition

The Third Coast/Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Competition (the first to be lovingly nicknamed the "Oscars of Radio") has awarded the most groundbreaking and influential documentary work in the audio storytelling industry since 2001.

Now in its 22nd year, our vision for the TC/RHDF Competition is to add to a living archive of exceptional audio work that reflects and anticipates changes in the field and in our world. The winners of this competition represent a body of work that mirrors the last 22 years of the industry. And new in 2021, we are committed to honoring a group of finalists that span each category of our Competition.

While the Third Coast/RHDF Competition is one of the longest-running narrative audio competitions in the world, we take particular pride in recognizing audio that complicates or questions what has come before, celebrates exceptional craft, and pushes the medium forward.

At Third Coast, experimentation, community, and accessibility are at the core of everything we do. We encourage you to read more about the values, history, and context most critical to our annual Third Coast/RHDF Competition by exploring the links below: